Festival Leadership

Untitled Document

2023 BEA Festival Leadership

 

Audio Competition
Faculty Audio Chair:
Kyle Miller, Northwest Missouri State University | KJMILLER@nwmissouri.edu
Student Audio Chair:
Jeffrey Schiffman, York College of Pennsylvania | jschiffm@ycp.edu

 

Documentary Competition
Faculty Documentary Chair:
Kathleen Ryan, University of Colorado-Boulder | kathleen.ryan@colorado.edu
Student Documentary Chair:
James Machado, Millersville University | jamesemachado42@gmail.com

 

Film & Video Competition
Senior Faculty Film & Video Competition Chair:
Marilyn Terzic, Université du Québec à Montréal | Marilyn.terzic@gmail.com
Senior Student Film & Video Competition Chair:

Animation/Experimental/Mixed Chair:
John Conway, Lynn University | jconway@lynn.edu
Instructional/Educational Chair:
Phillip Powell, Trinity Christian College | Phillip.Powell@trnty.edu
Music Video Chair:
Houston Wells, University of Florida | hwells@jou.ufl.edu
Narrative Video Chair:
John Doyle, Cabrini University | jcd725@cabrini.edu
Ronald Johnson, Wartburg College | ronald.johnson@wartburg.edu
Spots Chair (between 15 and 90 seconds):
Deb Larson, Missouri State University | DLarson@missouristate.edu
Promotional Chair (Promo material from 90 seconds to 30 minutes):
Dave Madsen, Morningside University | madsend@morningside.edu
Studio Chair (multi-camera or live-to-tape):
Geoff Thompson, University of Florida | gthompson@jou.ufl.edu

 

Interactive Multimedia & Emerging Technologies (IMET) Competition
Faculty IMET Chair:
Ed Youngblood, Auburn University | ney0002@auburn.edu   
Student IMET Chair:
Todd O’Neill, Middle Tennessee State University | todd.oneill@mtsu.edu
Student IMET Vice-Chair:
Danielle Deavours, Samford University | ddeavour@samford.edu

 

News Competition
News Senior Chair:
Chandra Clark, The University of Alabama | Chandra.clark@ua.edu
Faculty News Chair:
Brian Rackham, Northern Arizona University | brian.rackham@nau.edu
Student Radio Chair:
Tanya Ott, Mercer University | ott-fulmore_tl@mercer.edu
Student Television Feature Chair (3:00 or under):
Semaj Robinson, Alabama A&M University | semaj.robinson@aamu.edu 
Shawn Montano, University of Northern Colorado | shawn.montano@unco.edu
Student Television Feature Long Chair (over 3:00):
Kevin Curran, Loyola Marymount University | kevin.curran@lmu.edu
Student Television Hard News Chair:
Debora Wenger, University of Mississippi | debora.wenger@gmail.com
Geri Zeldes, Michigan State | alumitge@msu.edu
Student TV Anchor Chair:
Bob Gould, Michigan State | bgouldmsu@gmail.com
Student TV Weathercaster Chair:
Heather Dunn, Arizona State University | hdunn4@asu.edu
Student Newscast-3 Days or Less Chair:
Kirstin Pellizzaro, University of South Carolina | l kirstinp@mailbox.sc.edu
Student Newscast-4 Days or More Chair:
Tony Demars, Lamar University | tdemars@lamar.edu 
Ben Boggardus, Quinnipiac University | ben.bogardus@quinnipiac.edu
Student Newsmagazine Chair:
Harrison Hove, University of Florida | hchove@ufl.edu

 

 

Scriptwriting Competition
Faculty Scriptwriting Chair:
Jon McHale, Illinois State University | jpmchal@ilstu.edu
Student Scriptwriting Co-Chairs:
Jon Mabee, Missouri State University | JMabee@missouristate.edu
Dr. Leslie Kreiner Wilson, Pepperdine University | leslie.kreiner@pepperdine.edu

 

Sports Competition
Sports Senior Chair:
Eric Esterline, University of Florida | eesterline@jou.ufl.edu
Faculty Sports Chair:
John Shrader, University of Nebraska – Lincoln | john.shrader@unl.edu
Student Sports Co-Chairs:
Suzy Smith, Ball State University | sjsmith@bsu.edu
Colin Walker, Valdosta State University | colwalker@valdosta.edu
Ali Forbes, Texas State University | abforbes@txstate.edu

 

Two-Year/Small Colleges Competition
Two-Year/Small College Co-Chairs:
Bob Maass, Metropolitan Community College | bmaass@mccneb.edu

 

International Competition
Faculty & Student Chair:
Becky Beamer, Oslomet University | beckybeamer@gmail.com

 

Graduate Competition
Chair:
Tom Hallaq, Kansas State University | thallaq@ksu.edu