

Congratulations to the 2023 Graduate Student

Festival of Media Arts winners!

Best of Festival: In Need of a Reason; Jake Gerl, James Madison University (Scriptwriting Competition)

Best of Festival: *That's Dinnertainment!*; Marina Hart Donahue, Loyola University Chicago (Film & Video Competition)

Graduate Student Audio Competition

1st Place: Boys and Girls Club Mental Health Help; Natalie Skowlund, Arizona State University

2nd Place: Healing Through Culture; Natalie Skowlund, Arizona State University

3rd Place: College Students Turn To Emotional Support Animals to Aid Mental Health; Lacey Alexander,

University of Alabama

Graduate Student Film & Video Competition

1st Place (Tie): That's Dinnertainment!; Marina Hart Donahue, Loyola University Chicago

1st Place (Tie): Hushabye Nursery; Laura Bargfeld, Arizona State University

2nd Place: Hunter Pinke Returns to the Court; Nikki Pica, Arizona State University

3rd Place: Indigenous Rodeo; Mikenzie Hammel, Arizona State University

Award of Excellence: @seantucker2020; Annika Boos, Syracuse University

Award of Excellence: 3rd Largest Country; Tasneem Amro, Rachel Antidormi, Melanie Chen, James Cobb

& Kelsey Ouellette, Arizona State University

Award of Excellence: Attention Please; Sam Azghandi, Syracuse University

Award of Excellence: Indigenous Language; Alexia Stanbridge, Arizona State University

Award of Excellence: Finer Things; Brooke Kato, Syracuse University

Award of Excellence: Nile Inhabitants; Fatma ahmed el khatib, American University Cairo

Award of Excellence: *Petrified*; Bruce Levinson, Texas State University

Award of Excellence: Public Library PSA; Paige Orr, Oklahoma State University

Award of Excellence: Soldier DNA; Mikenzie Hammel, Arizona State University

Award of Excellence: The Show Must Go On; Cody Myers, Shippensburg University

Award of Excellence: Veterans Day PSA - Veterans Are Everywhere; Taylor Evans Ghosal, Andrea

D'Amado & James Smartt Jr., Loyola University Chicago

Graduate Student Interactive Multimedia and Emerging Technologies Competition

1st Place: The Haunting of Michigan Central Station; Shanae M. Pruitt, Wayne State University

2nd Place: #BlackatUARK; Gabrielle Willingham, University of Arkansas

3rd Place: Gaslit - Interactive Map; Howard Center for Investigative Journalism, Arizona State University

 $Award\ of\ Excellence: \textit{matchpointstories.com};\ Sarah\ Allison,\ Bridget-Anne\ Burke,\ Leonardo\ Herrera\ \&\ Bridget-Anne\ Burke,\ Leonardo\ Herrera\ &\ Bridget-Anne\ Bridget-Anne Bridget-A$

Dexter Ohaeri, Ball State University

Award of Excellence: Niños de Nueva Esperanza; Christy Marchand, Ana Martinez, Sophia Theriault,

Ivana Spurlock, Diamond Carroll, Doo Lee & Zachary Fertig, Elon University

Award of Excellence: Say Yes to Less; Soo Min Seol, Syracuse University

Graduate Student On-Air Talent Competition

1st Place: Lauren Green Anchor/Reporter; Lauren Green, Arizona State University

2nd Place: Geraldine Torrellas Cronkite News Anchor 2022; Geraldine Torrellas, Arizona State University

3rd Place: Edison LaCour Cronkite News; Edison LaCour, Arizona State University

Graduate Student Scriptwriting Competition

1st Place: In Need of a Reason; Jake Gerl, James Madison University

2nd Place: Queen Augusta and Her Fabulous Bitches; Joshua Malisos, Missouri State University

3rd Place: AZN; Ellora Bultema, Missouri State University

Award of Excellence: Solar Opposites -- Solar Opposites Telethon Extravaganza!; Matthew Neff, Missouri

State University

Award of Excellence: Star; Lauren Tuck, University of Oklahoma

Award of Excellence: This Is My Body Broken For You; Ellora Bultema, Missouri State