

# **Congratulations to the 2023 Faculty**

# **Festival of Media Arts winners!**

# **Faculty Audio Competition**

Best of Festival: Worldwide: The Unchosen Church; Tricia Jenkins & Charity Robinson, Texas Christian University (Audio Documentary Category)

#### **Audio Documentary Category**

 $Best \ of \ Competition: \textit{Worldwide: The Unchosen Church}; \ Tricia \ Jenkins \ \& \ Charity \ Robinson, \ Texas$ 

**Christian University** 

Award of Excellence: ARTIST SPOTLIGHT — ROSETTA THARPE; Dutch Hoggatt, Harding University

#### **Audio Promo, PSA, Commercial Category**

Best of Competition: K-State Football Weekly Evergreen Promo; Ian Punnett & Jacob Cummings, Kansas

**State University** 

Award of Excellence: Big Al's Runnin' on Radio Waves; Don Connelly, Western Carolina University

Award of Excellence: Freedom From COVID-19; Jan Thompson, Jennifer Pape & Alex Jockusch, Southern

Illinois University Carbondale

#### **Short-Form Production Category**

Best of Competition: "It's a Florida Dessert Drama: Strawberry Shortcake vs. Key Lime Pie"; Rick Brunson, University of Central Florida

#### **Long-Form Production Category**

Best of Competition (Tie): The Holiday Spirit; Will Anderson, Central Michigan University

Best of Competition (Tie): The Raven; Jodeane Brownlee, University of Nebraska at Omaha

Award of Excellence: CBS Radio Verion of War of the Worlds; Derik Hancock, Kentucky Wesleyan College

#### **Sound Engineering and Design Category**

Best of Competition: Show Trailer: A Christmas Carol; Phil Wilson, Huntington University

Award of Excellence: Springfield Youth Symphony Spring Concert; Weiyan Wang, Missouri State

University

### **Faculty Documentary Competition**

# Best of Festival: *Benny: Our Musical Lineage*; Dave Garcia, Baylor University (Short-Form Documentary Category)

#### **Micro-Documentary Category**

Best of Competition: The Heart of a Rose; Tim Sorel, University of Florida

Award of Excellence: Making Straight the Way; Larry Foley, John Cooper & Ben Goodwin, University of

Arkansas

#### **Short-Form Documentary Category**

Best of Competition: Benny: Our Musical Lineage; Dave Garcia, Baylor University

Award of Excellence: Down the Rabbit Hole: the Arts, the Pandemic, & the Curiouser Immersive Project;

Phil Wilson, Huntington University

Award of Excellence: Grit & Grace: The Fight for the American Dream; Oscar Guerra Nunez, Sabrina

Zanella-Foresi, Jim Himes & Eric Harris, University of Connecticut

Award of Excellence: Unstoppable Tiara Thomas; Betsy Pike & Max van Dongen, Ball State University

Award of Excellence: Eyes of the Storm: Hurricane Heroes; Scott Hodgson & Chandra Clark, University of

Oklahoma/ The University of Alabama

Award of Excellence: *Postcards*; Ashley Seering, Penn State University

### **Faculty Film & Video Competition**

# Best of Festival: *The Deaners of Fairmount*; Stephen Bailey, Taylor University (Mixed/Pedagogical Category)

#### **Commercial or PSA Category**

Best of Competition (Tie): Show Trailer: A Christmas Carol; Phil Wilson, Huntington University

Best of Competition (Tie): Show Trailer: Matilda, the Musical; Phil Wilson, Huntington University

#### **Instructional/Educational Category**

Best of Competition: *It Takes Courage: Reporting Sexual Harassment and Sexual Misconduct*; Joseph Kraemer, Chung-Wei Huang & Marc May, Towson University

Award of Excellence: *Enterprise: Creative Placemaking in the Community;* Bethany Swain, The University of Maryland

#### Mixed/Pedagogical Category

Best of Competition: The Deaners of Fairmount; Stephen Bailey, Taylor University

Award of Excellence: Strands of Light: Inspired by Borges; Barry Janes, Shawn Kildea, Alan McIntyre Smith & Jay Stern, Rider University

Award of Excellence: WASU-FM at 50: College Radio As It's Meant to Be; Dan "Vallie" Hill & Anne Ward, Appalachian State University

Award of Excellence: *UMTV PrimeTime*; Gina Presson, Ed Julbe, Ben Ezzy & Derryl Barnes, University of Miami

#### **Narrative Category**

Best of Competition: Americanish; Iman Zawahry, University of Florida

Award of Excellence: A Short Tutorial - Episode 1; Geoff Tarson, Hofstra University

Award of Excellence: Paper Line; Ryan Watson, University of South Florida

#### **Promotional/Music Video Category**

Best of Competition: On the Record; Kari Barber, University of Nevada, Reno

Award of Excellence: Hope of Escape - Official Trailer 2 - Diana; Heidi L. Gerber-Salins & Amy E. Gerber-

Stroh, Howard University

Award of Excellence: Women in Automotive Club: "You Belong Here"; Ryan Barrett, Rowan University

Award of Excellence: Michael F. Price Legacy; Scott Hodgson, University of Oklahoma

# **Faculty Interactive Multimedia and Emerging Technologies**

Best of Festival: *This Art is ALIVE!*; Ringo Jones, University of Arkansas & Lane Kendal University of Kansas (Interactive Reality Category)

#### **Emerging Media & Technology Category**

Best of Competition: Humanity: From Survival to Revival; Cecilia Suhr, Miami University Regionals

#### **Interactive Reality Category**

Best of Competition: *This Art is ALIVE!*; Ringo Jones & Lane Kendal, University of Arkansas, University of Kansas

#### **Multimedia Storytelling Category**

Best of Competition: *Body, Home, World: South Asian LGBTQ+ Journeys*; Aashish Kumar, Hofstra University

# **Faculty International Competition**

#### **Short-Form Documentary Category**

Award of Excellence: *Innavik: Leading the way to a clean energy future*; Aphrodite Salas, Luca Caruso-Moro, Virginie Ann & Kaaria Quash, Concordia University

### **Faculty News Competition**

# Best of Festival: *Lady Breslin*; Mike Castellucci, Michigan State University (Television Feature News Reporting Category)

#### **Television Hard News Reporting Category**

Best of Competition: "We didn't know about them for two days"; Bob Gould, Michigan State University

#### **Television Feature News Reporting Category**

Best of Competition: Lady Breslin; Mike Castellucci, Michigan State University

#### **Radio Hard News Reporting Category**

Best of Competition: "Some of the worst I've ever seen" Nebraska ranchers, farmers struggle against 5th worst drought on record; Bernard McCoy, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

#### **Radio Feature News Reporting Category**

Best of Competition: Billy's Circus; Michael Riecke, SUNY Oswego

# **Faculty Scriptwriting Competition**

Best of Festival: *Blowback;* Cory Byers, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (Narrative Feature)

#### Mini-Episodic/Webisode

Best of Competition: The Test; Marie Drennan, San Francisco State University

#### **Narrative Feature**

Best of Competition: Blowback; Cory Byers, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Award of Excellence: Blood Brothers; John Patrick McHale, Illinois State University

#### **Original Television Series Pilot**

Best of Competition: The Devil's Rust; Matthew Evans, University of Georgia

Award of Excellence: Northern Voice; Candace Lee Egan, California State University - Fresno

#### **Short Narrative Film**

Best of Competition: The Last Cruise of CPO Hanahan; Carey Martin, Liberty University

# **Faculty Sports Competition**

Best of Festival: *Bethel University Softball Intro 2023*; Chris Shofner, Bethel University (Short Form Sports Video Category)

#### **Short Form Sports Video Category**

Best of Competition: Bethel University Softball Intro 2023; Chris Shofner, Bethel University

#### **Sports Audio Category**

Best of Competition: "The Big 12 Championship: K-State vs. TCU"; Ian Punnett, Kansas State University

#### **Sports Mixed Video Category**

Best of Competition: *Do Right Stories: Sugar Bowl Hall of Fame*; Chandra Clark, Michael Bruce, Chris Lupenski & Kaley Martin, University of Alabama