Harwood Dissertation Award

Program FAQs

Who is recognized as a Harwood Dissertation Award winner?

These awards recognize an outstanding dissertation in the field of broadcasting and digital media.

I received my Ph.D. this year, can I submit my dissertation?

Nominees must have been awarded the Ph.D. degree during the current calendar year – between January 1, 2023 and December 31, 2023. Dissertations nominated for the award without the support of the dissertation director or department chair will not be considered. 

How are the winners recognized?

  • Winners are recognized at a BEA awards ceremony held during BEA’s annual convention in Las Vegas each April.
  • A press release and promotion through BEA’s website and social media.
  • A plague to recognize the recipient for their outstanding dissertation.
  • The recipient will receive a $1,000 award check following the convention.
When are the dissertations due?

Dissertations must be submitted by January 15th.

Who should I contact with questions?

You can contact the BEA staff at help@BEAweb.org or the BEA Research Committee chair, Michel Haigh, Texas State University, mmh204@txstate.edu