Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award

2022 Harwood Dissertation Award recipient Danielle Deavours (right) with Glenda Balas, BEA Research Committee Chair.

Award description

The Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award is an academic prize awarded each year by BEA for the best doctoral dissertation in field of broadcasting and electronic media. The prize was established by Kenneth Harwood, Professor at the University of Houston and a former President of the BEA. The award offers $1,000 for the outstanding Ph.D. dissertation in broadcasting and electronic media. The award was established through gifts started by Professor Harwood and a donation from a friend of BEA.


  • Nominees must be a current BEA individual member or graduate student at a BEA institutional member.
  • Nominees must have been awarded the Ph.D. degree between January 1, 2023 and December 31, 2023. Dissertations nominated for the award without the support of the dissertation director or department chair will not be considered.


September 1, 2023: Nominations open

January 31, 2024: Nominations close

February 15, 2024: Harwood winner announced

April 13, 2024: Harwood winner recognized during the BEA2024 Opening Awards Ceremony

April 13-16, 2024: BEA2024 annual convention