Harwood Dissertation Award

Nomination Process

BEA seeks nominations for the 33rd Annual Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award.  Established by Kenneth Harwood, Professor at the University of Houston and a former President of the BEA. The award offers $1,000 for the outstanding Ph.D. dissertation in broadcasting and electronic media. The award was established through gifts started by Professor Harwood and a donation from a friend of BEA.  

Nomination package should include

  • A PDF letter of nomination from the dissertation director or department chair of the degree-granting institution.
  • A PDF of the full dissertation (including the abstract.)

Submissions not following these guidelines will not be considered for the award. Only dissertations completed at BEA member institutions are eligible for the award.  To check if your university is a BEA institutional member Click here for a list of BEA Member Schools