New Faculty Research Grant

Arthur D. Soto-Vásquez recipient of the 2023 New Faculty Research Grant.

Award description

BEA’s New Faculty Research Grant (NFRG) seeks to promote scholarship through achievement by untenured broadcast and electronic media faculty. Every other year a cash grant of $1,000 is awarded for research projects as described below.

Initial funding for this grant was provided by Rebecca Hayden, winner of BEA’s Distinguished Education Service Award in 1993, and long-time editor/publisher of broadcast and media books at Wadsworth Publishing Co. The grant honors the memory of Sydney W. Head (1913-1991) and Harrison B. Summers (1894-1980), two key pioneers in broadcast education. Over time it is hoped that the scope of funded research will encompass technology, law and policy, audience studies, international and foreign systems, production and a variety of other media areas.


  • Applicants must be a current BEA individual member or institutional member.
  • Have completed the MFA or PhD, the terminal degree as applicable in their field/discipline.
  • Served as an assistant professor (or equivalent) for at least one academic year.
  • Not yet under review for tenure / pre-tenure.


September 1, 2023: Nominations open

January 15, 2024: Nomination deadline at 11:59 pm ET

February 15, 2024: NFRG winner announced

April 13, 2024: NFRG winner recognized during the BEA2024 Opening Awards Ceremony

April 13-16, 2024: BEA2024 annual convention