BEA Book Awards

2024 Book Award winner Josh Sheppard (right) and BEA Faculty Fellow Michael Bruce.

Award description

These awards recognize an outstanding book and textbook published in 2022 or 2023 (January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2023) in the field of broadcasting and mass communication. BEA members (as of December 31, 2023), may self-nominate any first-edition scholarly work in one of two categories:

1) monograph/edited collection, or
2) textbook that is relevant to broadcasting and mass communication.

Nominations for candidates are accepted starting in September each year.


  • Nominees must be a current BEA individual, institutional or associate member.
  • Nominees must have a published a book within the two-year window listed above.


September 1, 2023: Nominations open

December 15, 2023: Nominations close

February 15, 2024: Book Award winners announced

April 13, 2024: Book Award winners recognized during the BEA2024 Opening Awards Ceremony

April 13-16, 2024: BEA2024 annual convention