Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA)

Selection process

The DESA selection committee is chaired by BEA’s vice president for academic relations and joined by the previous DESA winner and current BEA secretary/treasurer. 

The DESA selection committee will review the nomination packages and based on the selection criteria, will make a recommendation to the BEA’s executive committee for approval.

The chair of the committee will notify the DESA recipient and all individual who submitted nominations packages by February 15.

Selection committee

  • Glenda Balas, University of North Texas – Dallas, BEA Vice President for Academic Relations
  • Dom Caristi, Ball State University, 2023 DESA Winner 
  • Jennifer Meadows, Cal State University – Chico, BEA Secretary/treasurer

Selection criteria

  • The nomination package highlights the nominee’s distinguished career in service which has made a significant and lasting contribution to the American system of electronic media education by virtue of a singular achievement or continuing service for or on behalf of electronic media education.
  • The nomination package outlines service that is above and beyond traditional contributions.
  • The nominee has an exceptional level of service to their academic institution and professional communities.
  • The nominee’s service commitment has impacted a broad range of persons and/or organizations.