Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA)

Kim Fox, BEA President 2023-2024 and Tim hudson, Point Park University, BEA’s 2024 Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA) winner.

Award description

Each year BEA’s Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA) is awarded to an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the American system of electronic media education by virtue of a singular achievement or continuing service for or on behalf of electronic media education.

With a focus on service, awardees will have a demonstrated record of service to BEA, their students, colleagues and institutions along with service to their professional community.

Nominations for candidates are accepted starting in September each year.


  • Nominees must be a current BEA individual, institutional or associate member.
  • Nominees must have a significant service record to BEA and other entities. 
  • NOTE: Current board members are not eligible to be nominated, but may nominate candidates for the award.


September 1, 2023: Nominations open

January 15, 2024: Nominations close at 11:59 pm ET

February 15, 2024: DESA winner announced

April 13, 2024: DESA winner recognized during the BEA2024 Opening Awards Ceremony

April 13-16, 2024: BEA2024 annual convention