Student Film & Video Competition

Student Film & Video Competition Chair
Marilyn Terzic | Université du Québec à Montréal
marilyn.terzic@gmail.com

Co-Chairs SV1-Animation/Experimental/Mixed
Ronald Johnson | Wartburg College 
johnson.ronald.a@gmail.com

Keren E. Henderson | Syracuse University
khenders@syr.edu

Chair SV2-Instructional
Phillip Powell | Valparaiso University
phillip.powell@valpo.edu

Chair SV3-Music Video
Lakshmi Tirumala | SUNY Plattsburgh
ltiru002@plattsburgh.edu

Co-Chairs SV4-Narrative
Andrew Ray | Palm Beach Atlantic University
andrew_ray@pba.edu

Robert Gordon | Middle Tennessee State University
robert.gordon@mtsu.edu

Ginger Blackstone | Harding University 
gblackstone@harding.edu

Kerri O’Farrell |Pierce College
kerriofarrell@twodogsbark.com

Co-Chairs SV5-Spots up to 60 seconds
Don Piper | Palm Beach Atlantic University
don_piper@pba.edu

James F. McNab | Drake University
james.mcnab@drake.edu

Co-Chairs SV6-Promotional
Joanne Littlefield | Colorado State University
joanne.littlefield@colostate.edu

Kellie Sapp | Aims Community College
kellie.sapp@aims.edu

Chair SV7-Studio
Nick Taylor | The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
nick.taylor@utrgv.edu

BEA’s Festival of Media Arts Student Film & Video Competition provide an opportunity for students at colleges and universities to showcase their video production work from the past year in a wide range of categories. Entries will be accepted from November 15 – December 15 and winners will be showcased during an awards ceremony at the BEA Convention in Las Vegas in April. The Student Video competition accepts entries in the following categories:

SV1 – Animation/Experimental/Mixed: This category is intended for animated films, artistic/experimental films and entries that do not “fit” in any of the other student video categories. In addition to technical and narrative excellence, projects entered in this category are expected to “push the traditional envelope.”

SV2 – Instructional/Educational: This category is intended for entries where the primary goal is to instruct or educate the viewer. While documentary and news projects often have instructional or educational content, they are generally a better fit for the student documentary and news competitions and should not be entered here.

SV3 – Music Video: This category is intended for original music videos produced for an individual or group who maintains ownership of the music and lyrics performed. The entrant must have rights to all music and image content for projects submitted to this category.

SV4 – Narrative: This category is intended for realism narratives (comedy, drama, etc.). If your narrative is tremendously fragmented or non-traditional, it should be entered in the Animation/Experimental/Mixed category.

SV5 – Spots: This category includes Public Service Announcements, commercials and advertisements between 15 and 60 seconds.

SV6 – Promotional (Promo material more than 60 seconds): This category includes longer promotional pieces such as “fund-raising pieces” for non-profits or “recruiting films” for athletic departments.

SV7 – Studio (multi-camera or live-to-tape): This category is intended for entries where the majority of editing was done live rather than in post-production. Some “pre-edited” segments may be “rolled into” the live program, but to a large degree, judges are looking for achievement in the live portions of the program.

Please read the Student Competition Rules to verify that your entry meets all eligibility requirements for submission.