⇐ Use the Main Navigation to View All the Winners


⇓2017 Best of Festival Winners⇓


 Audio Competition

Don Connelly & Dr. Bruce H. Frazier, Western Carolina University
Blackbeard’s Ghost and the Queen Anne’s Revenge
Faculty Long-Form Production Category

Tim Ning, Adam Walker, Alex Laney & Alex Cathey, Northwest Missouri State University
Lifted – Audio Replacement
Student Multimedia Sound Design Category






 Documentary Competition

Tim Sorel, University of Florida
My Kid is Not Crazy: a search for hope in the face of misdiagnosis
Faculty Long Form Video or Film Documentary Category

Melina Tupa, UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism
The Search
Student Long Form Video or Film Documentary Category

Interactive Multimedia Competition

Adam Peruta, Syracuse University
Traditions Challenge Mobile App
Faculty Entertainment & Emerging Techologies Category

Katherine Habrel, Marie Orttenburger & Minn Wang, Michigan State University
The New Vinyl
Student Small Team Category

News Competition

Angela Kocherga, Arizona State University
Border Wall
Faculty Television Hard News Reporting Category

Erik Webb, Elizabeth Bilka, Daniel MacLaury & Ashley Bohle, Elon University
Elon Local News Full Broadcast October 31, 2016
Student Television Newscast -airing 3 days per week or less




Ryan Eskalis & Susann Shin, University of Maryland
ViewFinder: Blindsided
Student Television Hard News Category

Olivia Richard, Arizona State University
Phoenix Veterans Courts
Student Radio Feature Reporting Category

Scriptwriting Competition

Imelda O’Reilly, James Madison University
Beneath the Boy’s Cry
Faculty Feature/TV Hour Category

Jessica Cannell, Purdue University Northwest
Humans: Episode 9
(Student Television Spec Category)

 Sports Competition

Connor Nichols & Tyler Bradfield, Ball State University
Ball State Sports Link: Dear Teddy
Student Television Sports Story/Feature Category

Two-Year/Small Colleges Competition

Gabriel Gonzales, Sarah Schroeder & Oliver Eldridge, Azusa Pacific University
Red Lotus
Narrative Video/Broadcast Production Category

Video Competition

Dawn W. Ford, George Fox University
Hidden Beauty: Tokyo
Faculty Mixed Video Category

Adam Konger & Randi Orr, Huntington University
The Julie Amos Story
Promotional Category

Emily Hamilton, George Fox University
Lucy and the Fly
Student Animation/Mixed/Experimental

About the Festival

The Broadcast Education Association’s Festival of Media Arts is a competitive festival open to BEA individual faculty and student members (any full-time undergraduate student attending a BEA institutional members receives free membership).  Last year the Festival received over 1,530 total entries in 15 competitions.  Separate competitions for faculty and students cover the range from dramatic narratives, through non-fiction documentary and news to the frontiers of interactive multimedia.

The 2017 competition entry window runs from November 15 to December 15, and winners are announced in mid-February.  Prizes are awarded during BEA’s annual convention & Festival of Media Arts – April 22-26, 2017 in Las Vegas, Nevada.

About BEA

BEA is the premiere international academic media organization, driving insights, excellence in media production, and career advancement for educators, students, and professionals. The association’s publications, annual convention, web-based programs, and regional district activities provide opportunities for juried production competition and presentation of current scholarly research related to aspects of the electronic media. These areas include media audiences, economics, law and policy, regulation, news, management, aesthetics, social effects, history, and criticism, among others.BEA is concerned with electronic media curricula, placing an emphasis on interactions among the purposes, developments, and practices of the industry and imparting this information to future professionals.  BEA serves as a forum for exposition, analysis and debate of issues of social importance to develop members’ awareness and sensitivity to these issues and to their ramifications, which will ultimately help students develop as more thoughtful practitioners.

Our Sponsor