We are proud to announce that 1987 Bayliss Radio Scholarship recipient John M. Burgett, (pictured below) has been selected to receive this year’s Distinguished Bayliss Broadcaster award at the upcoming Bayliss Radio Roast. In choosing Mr. Burgett, we recognize his contributions to the radio industry since he graduated from college, thereby honoring the memory of radio executive John Bayliss. 

Mr. Burgett is a partner in the Washington, D.C. law firm of Wiley Rein & Fielding LLP where he specializes in the representation of radio and television stations nationwide in a variety of transactional and regulatory matters. Steffan Tubbs, ABC Radio news correspondent, and a 1992 Bayliss Radio Scholarship recipient received the first award in 2002.

The anticipation is growing as we approach the March 13th date for the 17th Annual Bayliss Radio Roast. Very soon we will gather at The Pierre hotel in New York City for what promises to be a sizzling roast of ABC Radio Division president John Hare.

If you haven’t purchased tickets yet for this year’s Bayliss Radio Roast, the good news is that you still have time to act. Join the many key players in the broadcast and financial arenas as they enjoy an evening of fun and fundraising! 

The stellar line-up of roasters includes Master of Ceremonies, Bill Stakelin, Regent Communications; Don Bouloukos; Mitch Dolan, ABC Radio Station Group; Hal Jay, WBAP Radio; and last year’s roastee, Stu Olds, Katz Media Group. 

Act now! We look forward to sharing the evening with you! To review the ticket pricing, please click here www.baylissfoundation.org/tickets.html. After making your selection, call executive director Kit Hunter Franke at 831.655.5229 to reserve your seats. 

Your donation will ensure that radio’s future professionals will have the financial support necessary to concentrate on their broadcast studies. Thank you.

The Directors of The John Bayliss Broadcast Foundation:

Alice Bayliss Santa Maria, CA
Brad Bedford Arbitron Inc.
Bishop Cheen Wachovia Securities 
John David National Association of Broadcasters
Chesley Maddox-Dorsey Access.1 Communications Corp.
Gary Fries Radio Advertising Bureau
Paul Kagan Kagan Capital Management, Inc.
Gary Krantz Premiere Radio Networks
Katherine Marien St. Pete Beach, FL
Tim Menowsky Cumulus Media, Inc.
Herb McCord Granum Communications
Barry O’Brien Brookline, MA
Stu Olds Katz Media Group, Inc.
George Reed Media Services Group
B. Eric Rhoads Radio Ink Magazine
Ron Rodrigues Radio & Records, Inc.
Bill Stakelin Regent Communications, Inc.